Review: ELF Studio Contour Brush

12 Apr

I was at Target this past week and decided to stop into the cosmetic section.  To my surprise, my Target began carrying more of the ELF line.  While the pickings were still slim, at least they had more than the Beauty Encyclopedias and lip glosses!  I had lost my studio Contour Brush a few weeks ago and decided to pick up another.  Here is a review for this item for those interested:

 

Price: $3

Availability: some Targets or eyeslipsface.com

  • ELF Says:

This new anti bacterial, synthetic haired Taklon brush is softer and more absorbent and can be used with wet or dry products. Be a professional makeup artist and create a flawless look with this e.l.f. studio brush!

  • The domed bristles pick up a lot of color and deposit it onto the eyelid for extra definition
  • Adds depth close to the lash line and in the corner of the eye
  • Use to sweep colors along the lash lines for concentrated color
  • *Vegan Friendly
  • Application:

I specifically use this product for placing a contour shade into my crease and outer corner.  I have small, hooded eyes so I find that it works better to place product precisely where I want it.  The domed tip also provides a nice application and it is easy to outline where you want eyeshadow to be placed. I do find that it does not blend very well, so you will need to blend the color with a fluffy brush.  ELF also suggests you can use it to sweep color on the lashline (I think lower lashline would be best)  as  well as the inner corner for a nice highlight.  It is also great at picking up a good amount of product onto the bristles.

  • Product/Quality:

This is the second time I have bought this brush, because I lost the first one.  I think for $3 it is an excellent buy.  I have no problems with bleeding or shedding.  The bristles are soft and densely packed so the application will no be flimsy.  I have noticed that with the larger face brushes ELF offers the brush has come loose from the pharral (sp).   Many other people have complained about this same problem.  However, with the 5 or so eye brushes I have  from ELF, I’ve never had that problem.

  • Pros/Cons:
    • Pros:
      • Excellent Price
      • Precise Application
      • Great for small eyes
      • Great for beginners
      • Versatility
      • Quality
    • Cons:
      • Availability
      • Brush could come loose from the handle
      • Does not blend very well
  • My Thoughts:

Overall I love this brush, which is why I repurchased this product.  As described in the application, it makes applying a crease color super easy.  I think that others with small eyes will benefit from this brush as well.  Those with larger eyes can use it also to apply a crease color, or on their lower lash line as well. I think the versatility in this product will be great for all needs.  The quality you get with this brush, as well as the low price, makes it well worth it!  It is a great brush for those looking to expand their brush collection and do not have anything similar.

Leave a Reply

